Odisha State Archaeology, Bhubaneswar

The State Archaeology was functioned separately from 1965. Earlier it was attached with the State Museum. The main activities of State Archaeology are survey and exploration of monuments and archaeological sites, protection and conservation of monuments having local and State importance, excavation of archaeological sites and publication on its different activities. So far, 222 monuments have been accorded protection as per the Odisha Ancient Monuments Preservation Act of 1956.

Earlier, excavation work of archaeological and historical sites such as Kuruma, Bankada, Brahmabana, Raibania Fort, Khurda Gada, Sankarjang and Golbai were carried out. The excavation of Maraguda valley was under taken from 1991 and the last phase of the work is over. In recent past, excavations at Biratagada, Kichakagada and Belasaragarh were also done by this department. Earlier, survey and exploration of river valleys such as Prachi, Daya, Bhargavi, Fkushabhadra and Chitrotpala were completed. There are nine sculpture sheds housing sculptures, found from archaeological operations maintained by State Archaeology at Ayodhya, Kaupur, Sukleswar, Tirtha Matha, Kenduli, Niali, Kundesvara, Vishnupur, Lataharana and Boudh Town.

So far two publications have been brought out by this department. These are “Prachi Valley Survey Report” and “Annual Archaeological Survey Report”, Vol-I. It is proposed to publish a “Directory of Protected Monuments” soon. Archaeological gardens are also maintained at few protected sites.

Know More : https://odishamuseum.nic.in